Loading Posts...

Portland Black Metal Occultists L’Acéphale Announce First Album in a Decade

Keeping within the spirit of the headless cult, the always evolving and self-defining project of Set Sothis Nox La now sets out to unleash its first full-length in a decade, the eponymous L’Acéphale.


Illustration by Markus Wolff

The tracks on this titanous, 74-minute magnum opus offer a varied, yet focused, listen with copious tension.

While staying committed to their extreme metal roots and historical, literary themes, L’Acéphale incorporates and shines brightly with elements of monumental dark folk, spoken word, black metal, and almost martial artforms.

On seven epic-length tracks, spiraling with monolithic auras and blasting with furious whirlwinds, L’Acéphale  appears at once aloof, yet savage with wild abandon, while at times delicate, but still unbreakable.

L’Acéphale is as avant-garde as you can get, while raging with blistering and cacophonous ferocity.


Recorded over the course of six years at various locations, with primary recording and final mixing taking place at Gabriel Espinoza’s studio, the Hellhole, the album contains feral fires that open to dormant specters.

L’Acéphale was mastered by Gus Elg at Sky Onion in Portland, Oregon, coupled with stand out illustrations by Markus Wolff (Neurosis, Tribes of Neurot, Agalloch, Antlers) and features extensive layout design by John Haughm (Pillorian, ex-Agalloch).

L’Acéphale is set to be released on April 19, 2019, via Eisenwald on all formats including glorious gatefolds for both CD and 2xLP.

In addition, the band is set to plunge Roadburn 2019 into a void of darkness on April 12 in Tilburg, the Netherlands. You can read more here.

L’Acéphale is:

Set Sothis Nox La – vocals, keyboards
Jared Huston – guitars, vocals
Markus Wolff – moog synthesizer, vocals
Danny Costa – bass
Charlie Mumma – drums

Guest musicians:

Geneviève Beaulieu – vocals, guitars, keyboard
Liz Abyss – vocals

Illustrations by Markus Wolff (Neurosis, Tribes of Neurot, Agalloch, Antlers) and layout design by John Haughm (Pillorian, ex-Agalloch).