Loading Posts...

Sagenhaft – A Long Forgotten Legend

Myth and legend lives on in this 21st-century, hard to capture, yet rewarding and inspirational . Maybe it is the aura of heroism, the adventure, or the resemblance we sometimes see in ourselves and those characters living stories we will never experience. The project Sagenhaft is about all those things, captured into dreamy ambient, reaching towards epic proportions. Gianluca Martucci, standing behind it all, also releases music under the names Il Prato Dei Desideri and Urna. On his blog he describes Sagenhaft as “my old project of symphonic/medieval/esoteric music”. Old or not, compared to much else aiming for the same epic feeling Sagenhaft is minimalistic, but in a way that takes away little of the sentiment, leaving a mystic tale, told quietly.

“A Long Forgotten Legend” is divided into two parts, the first one consisting of old unreleased songs, while the second is made up by the previous cassette release “Lapideus Liber”. Through it all seeps something that can only be described as cinematic, drawing the mind to distant landscapes and adventurous times. The album starts with “The Book”, featuring the only appearance of vocals, served as bright female tunes and male spoken verse. It works as a great opening to the realms of Fae, with enchanting synth pad, harp and drums. The rest of “A Long Forgotten Legend” is completely instrumental, based around synthesisers and melodies that could suit many movies and games with magical themes. In “The Search For the Grail” we are deep diving into the Arthurian universe, with a symphonic quality that is nothing less than heroic. Striking “She Sleeps Under Green Waters” is a simple melody building up, swirling around, creating a dance of light as sun upon a forest pond, filled with beauty. The songs from “Lapideus Liber” are more thoughtful, more refined, deep in atmosphere. “Scire” opens this part with a darker mood, while closing “Notre Mer” is almost angelic, sounding like two harp voices pounding with rain.

I would say the feelings best describing “A Long Forgotten Legend” are bittersweet and peaceful all the same. A contradiction, but so is the classic evil and good streaming through stories and centuries, battling each other endlessly. Here it takes shape into a tapestry of dreams, a place to rest from everyday life’s shores or dullness. The simple arrangements makes the true spirit of each song more clear, putting the melodies in the centre of attention, creating an album both vivid and relaxing. It makes me feel warm, like I have stumbled on a small treasure, shining bright.

Rating: 4/5
Written by: Navdi
Label: Quartier23 (DE) / Format: CD in Gatefold-Pocket / Cat. #: XI

01 The Book
02 A Long Forgotten Legend
03 La Dame a la Licorne
04 Quest for the Grail
05 She Sleeps Under Green Waters
06 Scire
07 Potere
08 Audere
09 Tacere
10 Notre Mer