Loading Posts...

Paranoia Inducta – Pia Fraus

The last time that we heard from Paranoia Inducta, we had just covered their project’s latest release from 2010 in “Evil Angel”.  This one, “Pia Fraus”, is actually the album the preceded “Evil Angel” and is the second part in the Lux Mundi series for the band — the first of which was given life in 2006 as “Gloria Laus”.  Thus, this album is meant to continue the tradition against the Catholic church that will inevitably lead to the final release “Biri Probi”.  As with the first release in the series, “Gloria Laus”, which adorned a purple seal to show its anti-tribute to the bishops and archbishops of the Vatican, “Pia Fraus” adorns a red seal to point it’s accusing finger directly at the cardinals of the church — it would seem only natural that the last will be a fierce indignation of the Pope himself.  This hatred, it seems, is intelligently not directed at Catholics themselves but rather directed at the leaders behind the Church itself and their hypocrisy that has, to some, bred more deception and death in its time than it has spread those basic principles that it claims to rest upon in hope, love and forgiveness.

“Pia Fraus” opens up in mocking fashion with an array of deeply layered dark ambiance that is paired by the chanting echoes of male hymnal masses.  This is the equation that will go on to largely, and quite effectively, define the album and it’s presence through most of it’s aural existence even though darker textures will inevitably later invade the release.  Chants will eventually turn to echoed torments and screams, disturbing laughter and demonic female mantras.  Low end drones will invade the light airy ambiance that combines with the opening chants to give an overtly human presence.  Industrial clanking and the darkest elements of death industrial music will eventually take over completely, building through the entirety of the album and descending downwards; descending from the cathedral stairs to the basement in the back, through the darkness and down further still into the overwhelming blackness that is hidden beneath.  It’s more than cult-ish, it’s a direct reflection of the artist’s perception of the true catholic image.  It’s taken their good intentions and their furtive monasteries and pulled off the collective veil, revealing the rotting soul that lies not dormant, but quite active underneath.

“Evil Angel” is a great album, and by all respects is the current face of the project, but it had no sincere hard-edged purpose and to the people who are fed up with the joke that the Catholic Church has not only become, but has been for centuries, “Pia Fraus” is inspiring.  It doesn’t just accuse and ramble like many black metal albums of the same thematic significance, it doesn’t corrupt some fictional vision of a cartoonish disembowelment of the pope — no, it explores, in subtle discourse, the secrets of the church, the crimes against mankind that they’ve committed over the centuries and pays homage to the souls that, instead of being saved, were tortured.  Look, I’m not anti-christian or even anti-Catholic, not by a long shot.  I’m offended by anyone who takes an entire group of people be it religious, racial, or otherwise, and has an opinion that leads to their disrespect of that said group.  But the church’s atrocities are not only well-documented but openly discussed privately and in public classrooms, and even through the modern era through the various levels of abuse accusations by now-adults across the western world.  In the end, the most impressive aspect of this album was how much it is able to say without saying anything at all.

Track List:

01) Pia Fraus
02) Peccatum Mortale
03) Malleus Maleficarum
04) Caritas et Pax
05) Mysterium Magnum
06) Vox Mortis
07) Anima Damnata
08) Limbus Fatuorum

Rating: 4.75/5
Written by: Sage
Label: Beast of Prey (Poland) / BOP5.8 / CD
Dark Ambient