Loading Posts...

Sádon – Earth Ep


Sádon is a new project hailing from Russia’s Saint-Petersburg and Earth is their official debut. This is a small release, put out on a cassette and as a digital download by the French tape label BLWBCK (also releasing Appalache, Saåad, Misery etc.) Earth is the first of a four-EP series, which I guess will be somehow interconnected as length, aesthetics, concepts and sound. The latter here is very specific. The music Donat Mavleev and Sanya Vorobey are playing is placed somewhere between lo-fi ambient, minimalist post-rock and drone. In a short talk I was able to discuss their understanding about music and their aims. Sádon were very brief, yet thorough ‘All what we’ve made and liked has consciously or unconsciously followed one purpose – to tame the passion. It could be something loud and aggressive, but also quiet and pure. One thing is certain – in the end is always eternal peace.’

Earth is a fragmentary collection of music of six short pieces. ‘Our tracks are short like our lives. We would like to change that, but we cannot.’ said Sádon. They are produced in a very homogeneous fashion, but they sound quite diverse from one another. The opener In is charged with a lot of energy and almost deceivingly adjusts your mind for a heavier and darker follower. However the record doesn’t work like that at all. As a general impression Earth resembles more the sense of wandering in the unknown, rather than the slow unfolding of a carefully considered process. Little Maple is a drifting soundscape marked at some points by a subtle use of voice, which later is moving more to the front of the record. The first time I heard Magma and Sacrifice I was slightly reminded of Birds of Passage, but actually the cold and sadness found in Sádon’s music has nothing to do with Alicia Merz’s warm and intimate drone/folk works.

Still, Earth is a really personal album, at least it sounds that way. It’s icy and mesmerizing. Probably the fact that it is a short one comes as a plus, because otherwise you could be eternally frozen in it. It’s great how such a small EP can raise so many questions, as it is obviously overwhelmingly soaked with passion. And the fact that the record is the first of a series makes you really wonder how/if the duo will change in their upcoming work, or the fragmentary and impulsive approach to music is actually an already established style and not only a result of a new band’s search for its sound. ‘For everything there is a season and a time for every matter under heaven. Our music should be made and listened step-by-step.’ said Sanya and Donat and I guess we’ll just have to wait a bit more to see/hear where will Sádon bring us next time. Until then we’ll study the Earth.

Rating: 5/5
Written by: Angel S.
Label: BLWBCK (FR) / Format: Tape / Digital / Cat. # BLWBCK027

01 In
02 Magma
03 Little Maple
04 Shame On Board
05 Sacrifice
06 Father / The White Time